Friday, March 24, 2017

Congratulations to Terrtu Pohjolainen!

At the recent meeting of the Kaiserswerther Generalkonferenz (KGK) held in Berlin, Terrtu (from Finland) was elected as the new President. (Congratulations, Terttu!) She brings a variety of diaconal experiences to the office of President, including her work with the Diakonian Institute of Lahti and as Managing Director of Kaarisilta, a facility for children and young people with disabilities. She has previously served as vice-president of the KGK. Terrtu is pictured below with other office bearers - Oberin Rollaug Waaler (from Norway) and Sr. Diakonisse Anke Frickmann. Together, they will provide leadership for the Presidium of the KGK. (Congratulations also to Anke and to Rollaug).

The worldwide Kaiserswerther General Conference is a network of more than 100 diaconal institutions, diaconal houses, diaconic communities and deaconesses from Europe, North and South America, Asia and Africa.

At its recent meeting, planning took place for the 43rd General Conference in Bethel in 2018 as well as the planned tour to New York City in autumn 2017. It is anticipated this tour will provide insights into the American health care system by visiting various hospitals, public nursing homes, training centres and historical places of health care, including visits to the Bronx-Lebanon Hospital Centre, the NYU Lutheran Medical Centre and the Blythedal Children's Hospital founded in 1883 by a Norwegian deaconess.

The Presidium of the KGK is made up of: Diakonisse Terttu Pohjolainen (FI), Oberin Rollaug Waaler (NO), Director Marek Londzin (PL), Sister Melinda L. Lando (North America), Stiftspropst Jürgen Stobbe (D-Nord), Ltd. Sister Diakonisse Anke Frickmann (D-West), Ltd. Sr. Roswitha Buff (D-South), Personnel Committee / Dr. Gundula Grießmann (D-Ost), authorized officer Karsten Stüber (D-Ost), Theol. Executive Board Rev. Klaus Riesenbeck (D-West), Rector Pastor Annette Goll (F), Superior Sr. Merete Pelle Poulsen (DK), Vice- Ltd. Sr. Vilma Linda Reinar (BR), Pastor Christa Schrauf (AT), KR Dr. Christine-Rutmüller (Secretary General).

No comments:

Post a Comment